Much like our digestive system, a septic system harbors beneficial bacterial flora that help it function optimally. However, it isn’t uncommon for an important component of these systems, the septic tank, to function at less than its full potential.

As a result, the other components of the system begin to fail. Excessive water consumption often interferes with the balance of the initial decomposition process, which will ultimately have negative repercussions on the environment.

Monitoring efficiency

Owners of isolated residences should know that, in order to be in compliance with Quebec regulations (Q-2 r. 22 Wastewater Evacuation and Treatment), they must have their septic system inspected and maintained on a regular basis.

The demands placed on these types of systems influences their efficiency and lifecycle, which is generally not much more than twenty years or so. There’s no point in trying to increase their longevity by injecting bacteria or air in an attempt to revitalize the leach field, as any effects will be very short-lived. Furthermore, the use of treatments that include additives or hydrogen peroxide is strongly discouraged by the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC).

The “digestive” capacity of a septic system bears a direct relationship to the quantity of water that reaches it within a given amount of time. Heavy water consumption within a relatively short period (when preparing meals, washing dishes or clothes, taking baths or showers, etc.) causes the wastewater to spend less time in the septic tank. As a result, less settling occurs, and the beneficial effects of the microorganisms in the tank are reduced. This, in turn, has a negative impact on the system downstream.

Allowing sufficient time for the processes to work

It’s important to understand that a septic tank—whether concrete, plastic or fiberglass—is the first line of defense. It was designed to perform a bacterial pre-treatment, forcing the liquids, solids and greases to separate. The fluid then enters a network of perforated pipes situated under a bed of stones covered with dirt.

This is known as a leach field. Any bacteria, viruses or contaminants are biologically decomposed there before the fluid percolates into the soil. Consequently, if too much water reaches the septic tank too quickly, this initial treatment loses some of its effectiveness and, as a result, too much solid material reaches the leach field, obstructing the pipes, hindering its performance and shortening its lifecycle.

Wastewater should remain in the septic tank for at least 24 hours for the septic system to function at full efficiency. However, significant water consumption that’s concentrated within a short period forces the wastewater to leave the septic tank prematurely. That’s why it’s important not only to reduce consumption, but also to stagger it.

It’s also critical to prevent things like hair, paper, paper towels, diapers, litter, condoms, napkins, sanitary napkins and dental floss from ending up in the septic tank, as they will decompose very little, if at all.

The septic system experts at Sanibert would also like to remind you not to “feed” your septic tank products containing detergents, bleach, pesticides, insecticides, paint, solvents or medication. All of these are detrimental to the beneficial bacterial flora.

À l’image de nos systèmes digestifs, les installations septiques doivent abriter une flore bactérienne optimisée pour faire correctement leur travail. Il n’est pas rare, toutefois, qu’un élément important de ces installations, la fosse septique, ne fonctionne pas à son plein potentiel.

D’autres éléments du système deviennent alors défaillants. Une trop grande consommation d’eau contribue souvent à altérer l’équilibre du processus de décomposition initiale, et cela a des répercussions négatives sur l’environnement en bout de piste.

Une efficacité à surveiller 

Les propriétaires de maisons isolées doivent savoir qu’une installation septique doit être périodiquement inspectée et entretenue pour demeurer conforme à la réglementation québécoise (Q-2, r. 22 Évacuation et traitement des eaux usées). 

La sollicitation de ce type de système influence son efficacité et sa durée de vie, laquelle n’excède pas en général une vingtaine d’années. Inutile d’ailleurs de tenter d’augmenter sa longévité par l’injection de bactéries ou d’air afin de redynamiser le champ d’épuration; l’effet est de très courte durée. De plus, tout traitement incluant notamment des additifs ou du peroxyde d’hydrogène est déconseillé par le MELCC. 

La capacité «digestive» d’une installation septique est en relation directe avec la quantité d’eau qui y arrive dans une période de temps donné. Une consommation d’eau élevée en un relativement court laps de temps (souper, vaisselle, lavage, bains, douches…) fait en sorte que les eaux usées demeurent moins longtemps dans la fosse septique. La décantation et l’effet des microorganismes qui s’y trouvent sont alors diminués. Ce qui a un impact également négatif en aval dans le système.

Laisser le temps au processus d’agir

Il faut comprendre que la fosse septique, en béton, en plastique ou en fibre de verre, agit en première ligne. Elle a été conçue pour faire un prétraitement bactérien qui forcent les liquides, les solides et les matières grasses à se séparer. L’apport fluide entre ensuite dans un réseau de tuyaux perforés placés sur un lit de pierres et recouverts de terre. 

C’est le champ d’épuration. Les bactéries, virus et contaminants y sont biodécomposés avant que l’apport ne percole dans le sol. Dès lors, si trop d’eau arrive rapidement dans la fosse septique, le premier traitement perd de son efficacité et, par conséquent, trop de matières se retrouvent dans le champ d’épuration, ce qui est susceptible de provoquer l’obstruction des tuyaux ainsi qu’une diminution de son rendement et de sa durée de vie.

Les eaux usées devraient demeurer au moins 24 heures dans la fosse pour que toute l’installation septique soit pleinement efficace. Or, une consommation d’eau inadaptée, c’est-à-dire importante et concentrée dans le temps, force les eaux usées à quitter la fosse prématurément. Il importe donc de diminuer cette consommation, mais aussi de l’échelonner. 

Par ailleurs, il faut aussi éviter que des cheveux, papiers essuie-tout, couches, litières, condoms, serviettes hygiéniques, soies dentaires, etc., n’aboutissent dans la fosse septique, car ils se décomposent peu ou pas. 

Expert en installations septiques, Fosse Septique Sanibert vous rappelle également de ne pas «donner» à votre installation septique des produits détersifs ou javellisant, des pesticides, des insecticides, peintures, solvants et médicaments. Ce sont des produits néfastes à sa flore bactérienne.